Contact Me >


CMS and the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC) have established standards and certification criteria for structured data that EHRs must use in order to successfully capture and calculate objectives for Stage 2 of Meaningful Use. These new standards and certification criteria took effect in 2014 Criteria for Stage 3 Meaningful Use has been announced.

The TriMed EHR version 8.0 is certified to the 2014 standards and certification criteria by ICSA Labs. This certification means that the EHR is a Complete EHR for Meaningful Use Stage 1 and Stage 2.

The Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs provide financial incentives for the meaningful use of certified EHR technology to improve patient care. To receive an EHR incentive payment, providers have to show that they are meaningfully using their EHRs by meeting thresholds for a number of objectives. The EHR Incentive Programs are phased in three stages with increasing requirements.

As you progress from Stage 1 to Stage 2:

  • Measures are focused on more rigorous health information exchange (HIE)
  • Additional requirements for e-prescribing and incorporating lab results
  • Electronic transmission of patient care summaries across multiple settings
  • Increased patient and family engagement

No matter when a provider decides to start attesting to being a “meaningful user” he/she
must always start with Stage 1 criteria, meeting lower thresholds for the first two years.
After the first two years he/she must achieve Stage 2 criteria/attestation.

TriMed EHR Tools for Meaningful Use

  • Code Sets
  • Transition of Care
  • Clinical Secure Messaging
  • Reference Libraries
  • Patient Portal System
Meaningful Use